#ThrowbackThursday: #MichaelJackson – #OfftheWall (1979)

Off the Wall


Track listing:

01. Don’t Stop ‘Til You Get Enough (prod. by Quincy Jones & Michael Jackson; M. Jackson, writer)

02. Rock with You (prod. by Q. Jones; Rod Temperton, writer)

03. Workin’ Day and Night (prod. by Q. Jones & M. Jackson; M. Jackson, writer)

04. Get on the Floor (prod. by Q. Jones & M. Jackson; M. Jackson & Louis Johnson, writers)

05. Off the Wall (prod. by Q. Jones; R. Temperton, writer)

06. Girlfriend (prod. by Q. Jones; Paul McCartney, writer)

07. She’s Out of My Life (prod. by Q. Jones; Tom Bahler, writer)

08. I Can’t Help It (prod. by Q. Jones; Stevie Wonder & Susaye Greene, writers)

09. It’s the Falling in Love (prod. by Q. Jones; Carole Bayer Sager & David Foster, writers)

10. Burn This Disco Out (prod. by Q. Jones; R. Temperton, writer)


Last Thursday, the first single from Michael Jackson’s second posthumous release, Xscape, made its world premiere at the 2014 iHeartRadio Music Awards.  Titled “Love Never Felt So Good”, it arrived to us in the regular album version as well as a duet featuring Justin Timberlake.  Although there are noticeable differences between the two, both versions have that underlying and beloved ’70s/’80s throwback feel.

Upon hearing “LNFSG”, I couldn’t help but revisit what is arguably MJ’s first classic solo effort: Off the Wall!  Released short of the King of Pop’s 21st birthday, it has everything we’ve come to know about his catalog.  Insane, distinct vocals?  Check.  Immaculate production (courtesy of Quincy Jones and the singer himself)?  Check.  Number one, crossover hits (“DSTYGE,” “RwY”)?  Check.  While not reaching the mega success and acclaim of its successor (Thriller), this pop/soul masterpiece showcased the promise of an artist truly coming into his own.

Feel free to chime in with your thoughts on the album in the comments section 🙂


Posted by Brian Buchana (@dynasty86)
Powered by Dynasty Music Entertainment [DME]

The Hit Music Academy | 2014

follow The Hit Music Academy @hitmusicacademy

:: twitterfeed @hitmusicacademy ::


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s