How To Effectively Promote And Sell Your Music on iTunes – Guest Blog

How To Effectively Promote and Sell Your Music on iTunes

By Cameron Mizell

If there’s one small piece of advice I can give other musicians in regards to promoting their music, this is it. This is the one thing I’ve done that has generated more money, reached more fans, and helped me target other types of promotions, all with no cost other than a little thought and time. And that one thing is create iMixes in the iTunes Music Store. I’ll discuss this in three sections: How to make effective playlists, why this works beyond the iTunes store, and how to balance your time between creating and promoting your music.

iMixes are user generated playlists that are published to the store for others to find. It’s a great way to discover new music. To see an example of an iMix, click hereicon to open one I recently published, called Breakbeat Jazz.

To learn how to make an iMix of your own, see the directions on iTunes.

For a little background on some related thoughts, read my earlier posts on playlists and recommendations.

My philosphy is that if you take a very narrow aim at a specific group of people, you’re going to find dedicated fans. This is the complete opposite of trying to get as much radio play as possible, or taking out an ad in the Sunday edition of the New York Times. Instead of trying to convert 0.5% of thousands or millions of people by throwing spaghetti on the wall, I’m trying to get a 50% conversion of 50 people, many times over by catering to their tastes. Those people are excited to discover my music and word spreads organically. One of the best ways to do this is with playlists, or in this case, iMixes.

Before I go further, I must say that since I started doing this and paying attention to the iMixes being created every week, I’ve seen this tool get abused by artists essentially spamming for attention. When iMixes are created with the blatant intent of tricking people into buying music they probably don’t like, I question the ethics of the creator. There are a number of other tactics I frown upon, but in an attempt to avoid dwelling on negativity we won’t discuss the bad apples. Instead, let’s talk about how to do this the right way and the positive effects I’ve seen with my own music. I can only vouch for the results I’ve seen from doing things the way detailed below.

Using the Breakbeat Jazz mix as an example, let’s talk about what goes into a good iMix.

Theme or target audience. Just like you’d make a mix tape or other playlist for a reason, a good iMix is more than just a collection of songs. If all else fails, think of an activity that is more enjoyable with music. Driving, cleaning, cooking, blogging, etc. make great themes. My example targets a specific audience–DJs that love searching for the perfect breakbeat. That’s a pretty narrow audience, but you’ll learn this is a good thing.

Read the remainder of this article @ http://www.musicianwages.com/the-working-musician/how-to-effectively-promote-and-sell-your-music-on-itunes

Written by Cameron Mizell for Musician Wages

Posted by Dexter Bryant Jr. [d.BRYJ]
Powered by d.BRYJ Music Media Group.

The Hit Music Academy | 2010

Get Hit Music Academy Twitter updates @hitmusicacademy

Get d.BRYJ Twitter updates @dBRYJmusic

Play your favorite hit songs 24/7 on Hit Music Academy TV: YouTube

Leave a Reply

