Reactions: 2009 GRAMMY Nominations

Click pic to visit the GRAMMYs website

After the nominations for the 52nd Annual Grammy Awards were announced, these were some of my initial reactions:

I COMPLETELY underestimated Beyoncé and the Black Eyed Peas’ chances in the General Field. As fantastic of a record that “Halo” is, I didn’t think that it would stand out enough among the top twenty vote-getters in Record of The Year. Something kept telling me to place The E.N.D. in my Album of the Year predictions, but its lukewarm reviews convinced me to do otherwise. Nonetheless, both nominations are well deserved in my book.

Initially, I was a little disappointed when Maxwell failed to land in Album of the Year for his latest effort, BLACKsummers’night. However, he got a whopping five nods in total and the Blue Ribbon Panel may have decided to wait until the full trilogy is released to honor him here.

Although I’m happy for the nods of Drake, Kid Cudi and Melanie Fiona, unless NARAS is changing that ridiculous rule, they won’t be able to compete in Best New Artist next year. Drake especially looks like he will continue to have monstrous success in the next eligibility period so here’s hoping for some reform.

For all of the reservations I had about my Best New Artist predictions, four of my choices landed in the category: Zac Brown Band, Keri Hilson, MGMT and the Ting Tings. Honestly, I’m not too familiar with Silversun Pickups hence why I didn’t foresee them making it in. It’ll be interesting to see who ultimately takes the prize.

Dave Matthews Band’s Album of the Year nod really took me for a loop. While Big Whiskey and the Groogrux King debuted at number one on Billboard’s Top 200 Albums chart, it didn’t seemed like it sustained enough buzz throughout the rest of the eligibility period to land here. This just goes to show that sometimes the quality of the work is all you need to score big in the big categories.

My hat goes off to NARAS voters for really embracing the juggernaut that was Taylor Swift this past year. Not only did she score big in her respective genre (Country Female, Country Song and Country Album), Swift received two Pop nods (Pop Female and Pop Collaboration) and three General Field mentions (Record, Album, and Song of the Year). Personally, I hope she cleans house come January 31 when the Grammy telecast airs on CBS.

Article produced by Brian Buchana.
Powered by DbryJ Music Media Group.

Related articles:

GRAMMY Predictions 2009: The Big 4
GRAMMY Award Nominations: Sneak Peek

GRAMMY Predictions 2009: Pop

GRAMMY Predictions 2009: Dance

GRAMMY Predictions 2009: Rap

GRAMMY Predictions 2009: R&B

Leave a Reply

