Whitney Houston’s 2k9 Comeback Single

Whitney Houston – “I Didn’t Know My Own Strength”
Click to hear the leaked rough draft version

Produced by David Foster
Written by Diane Warren

Whitney is back in 2009 with her new single "I Didn't Know My Own Strength"

Whitney is back in 2009 with her new single "I Didn't Know My Own Strength"

First of all, I just want to say that as a perennial Whitney Houston fan, I am ecstatic that her first studio album in seven years, I Look to You, is finally going to be in stores on September 1, 2009. Considering everything she’s been through in the last decade, I’ve been rooting for her to return to musical prominence.

With that being said, the album’s tentative first single, “I Didn’t Know My Own Strength”, has left me in an awkward position. Produced by the legendary producer David Foster and written by the Grammy award winning songwriter Diane Warren (“Because You Loved Me” and “How Do I Live”), the song–as heartfelt as it is–may not be the big comeback single that fans were hoping for. While I respect her for staying true to her artistic integrity and not feeling the need to compete with what is popular at the moment, “Strength” sounds dated in its production and the lyrics come off as being trite at times.

Nonetheless, Houston’s voice is in pretty good shape here and all of the passion that made her a worldwide superstar is present. Yes, her voice has changed for well-known reasons but I applaud Whit Whit for embracing it and going forward. Hopefully, with people like Ne-Yo, Alicia Keys, Swizz Beatz, Will.I.Am, and StarGate supposedly on board for the album, the rest of Whitney’s new material will have more edge.

Grade: B

Reader Input

What do you think of Whitney’s comeback song? Did she wait too late for her comeback? Do you think her comeback album will mark the triumphant return for one of pop music’s greatest divas of all time or will it be a flop?

Please share your thoughts in the comments section.

Article produced by Brian Buchana.
Powered by DbryJ Music Media Group.

3 comments

  1. Susan · July 13, 2009

    While I am a fan of (the early) Whitney, and watched her, along with the rest of the world, spiral out of control, I’m rooting for her comeback too. I’m also a fan of Foster, but has time passed him by? He has a formula that has worked, but I don’t know that the formula always works for comebacks. He worked with MJ on HIStory…not exactly Thriller. But his approach to these artists gone by, is to remind them of their greatness. I think he’s done that with Whitney. Is Quincy involved with this new album too? I wish Whitney well and hope she can stay out of “trouble”.

    • DbryJ Music · July 13, 2009

      Foster is a great producer but it does seem that he may be slightly out of touch with the current popular music flavor. I don’t think using his established formula is going to help Whitney sky rocket back to the top of the mainstream but then again “I Didn’t Know My Own Strength” is a good song in many regards. I don’t think Quincy is involved with this album but it sure would be great if he was. He’s one of the best.

      Thanks for your comments Susan 🙂

    • dynasty86 · July 15, 2009

      Yeah, to my knowledge, Quincy Jones did not work with Whitney on this project (and I don’t believe they’ve ever worked together in the past). Thank you so much Susan for your insightful comment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

